The Cathedral Chapter (Restored 13th January 1884)
Statutes Revised January 2005

The Cathedral Chapter was restored with twelve canonries which the Holy See increased to fourteen. These are the Canons de Numero. The January 2005 revision of the Chapter Statutes linked the possession of a number of these Canonries ex officio with the Office of Dean (or Vicar Forane) and with the office of Administrator of Saint Andrew's Cathedral. The other four Canonries are assigned by the Archbishop in consultation with the Chapter. In addition there are Canons supernumerary whether Emeriti or Honorary who are not members of the Chapter, but are accorded the status of such.


V Rev Peter Gallacher VF

Canons de Numero

Rt Rev Mgr John Gilmartin VF

Rt Rev Mgr Peter Smith

V Rev Mgr Hugh Bradley

V Rev Gerard Tartaglia VF

V Rev Peter McBride VF

V Rev Gerard Conroy (Canon Theologian)

V Rev Robert Hill VF

V Rev John McGrorry VF

V Rev Mgr Paul Conroy VG

V Rev Andrew McKenzie VF

V Rev Anthony Gallagher VF


Canons Supernumerary - Emeriti

V Rev Patrick J Kelly

V Rev Bernard Devine

Rt Rev Mgr Patrick Osborne

Rt Rev Mgr Noel Woods

V Rev George Bradburn


Canons Supernumerary - Honorary

V Rev Nicholas Rowan

Go to top