Welcome to the webpage for the Archdiocese of Glasgow’s New Evangelisation Office.

Whether you are interested in becoming a Catholic, have left the Church and are thinking of returning, or are seeking to deepen your faith, we hope you will find something here that interests and assist you.

There are currently 96 Catholic parishes in the Archdiocese of Glasgow  and I would urge you to visit your Parish Priest to discuss the faith and to find out more.

As Catholics we believe that Jesus Christ is “the way, and the truth, and the life” and that no-one comes to the Father except through Christ (John, 14:6). We are therefore all ambassadors for the Faith, beholden to encourage and welcome others to the Church which he founded.


What is New Evangelisation? 

Ever since Christ sent the Apostles out to proclaim the Good News, the Church has understood evangelisation to be at the heart of its existence.

While the message – that Jesus is Christ, Son of God, and the fulfilment of God’s promise of salvation – never changes, what does is the culture in which the message is proclaimed.

The Ecumenical Council Vatican II, which took place in the 1960s, sought to present the teachings of the Church in a way that a quickly changing world would hear. Since the 60s the world has continued to change and in ways that few could have foreseen at the time.

Today we find ourselves in a society that prizes individual expression above everything else. Individualism is so ingrained in our culture that it is taken for granted that it is a “force for good”, an objective truth, the pursuit of which will somehow set us free.

However, a growing number are becoming aware that an obsession with individual expression can resemble a totalitarianism that the previous century has taught us to be wary of.

It is perhaps most noticeable in the world of social media where those who express views different from the currently accepted “norms” can be quickly and brutally supressed by others.

But the major problem with an obsession with individualism is that it narrows our potential and blinds us to other way of viewing the world, views which can be beneficial.

One such view is the Christian one where each of us, although separate beings, together form the Body of the Church and where we are joined in the sacraments of Baptism and Holy Communion.

The ideas of forming a community, giving yourself up to God and even of loving one another become impossible when the selfish needs of the individual come first. How can there be community, love, and the myriad joys which they bring when the number-one priority is our own needs?

It is in this culture that we must continue our mission of evangelisation.

Evangelism must be done in humility and with the recognition that it does not have a monopoly on truth or goodness. If the Church believes, as it does, that Christ constituted it as a storehouse of those truths, to guard them and hand them on, it also recognises that it has not yet come to the fulness of understanding the richness that Christ entrusted to it.

That is why we are adopting an approach of dialogue and story as central to the work of proclaiming the faith. Each of us has our own story, our own journey of faith, but towards a single destination.

By sharing these stories, and with God’s grace to guide us, we can together grow in understanding of the riches that have been entrusted to us and share these blessings with others.

With this in mind, we have established a New Evangelisation “Faith Living” initiative in the Archdioces of Glasgow.

This New Evangelisation initiative aims to pool the unique gifts, talents and skills of everyone in order to work together towards the common goal of spreading the Good News and deepening and developing our faith.

Catholic Belief

Christ himself is the founder of the Catholic Church. The New Testament shows that Christ created a community of disciples to carry on his mission in the world, to “go preach the gospel to the whole of creation”.

Christ placed Peter at the head of His Church as the first pope, giving him “the keys to the kingdom of heaven”, and giving his Church his own authority (“whatever you bind on Earth shall be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on Earth shall be loosed in heaven”).

Catholics believe that the only remedy for the spiritual disease of sin is Divine Grace, God’s unconditional love. A source of Divine Grace is from the seven sacraments instituted by Christ:

  • Baptism;
  • Reconciliation;
  • Holy Eucharist;
  • Confirmation;
  • Matrimony;
  • Holy Orders, and;
  • Anointing of the Sick.

To be a Catholic is to be part of a living entity, which is part of the presence of Jesus Christ in today’s world. It is more than a group of buildings, or institutions, but, as Saint Paul attested, each member serves as individual parts of the Body of Christ.

  • Catholicism involves a daily commitment to embrace the will of God.
  • Being a practising Catholic involves:
  • Attending Mass every Sunday (or Saturday vigil) and holy days of obligation;
  • Confession annually or more often as required;
  • Receiving Holy Communion during Easter;
  • Observing laws on fasting and abstinence;
  • Supporting the Church financially and otherwise.

How do I become a Catholic?

The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults, or RCIA, is the beginning point for adults interested in becoming Catholics.

Those wishing to join who have never received baptism are known as "catechumen" in the Church, while those who have already been baptised but are seeking full communion with the Catholic Church are called "candidates".

Some of the terms can seem quite daunting or very different from what we are used to.   But don't worry, it's all part of the rich tradition and heritage of the Catholic Church. We will explain the terms as we go.

Your Parish Priest can discuss in detail what is involved in the RCIA, but the basic steps are:

  • Inquiry. This is the period before you decide to enter the Catholic Church. You are asking questions, both of others and of yourself, and finding out more about the faith.
  • Catechumenate. Those who decide to enter the Church are known as "catechumens". During this stage, you are developing your understanding and learning the basic points about the Catholic faith.
  • Purification and Preparation. During this period, you will receive help as you prepare to be received into the Church at Easter. During Lent, you will receive Gospel-based meditations that will assist in intensifying your faith and preparing you.
  • Initiation. Here you are received into the Church during the Easter Vigil Mass and receive the sacraments of initiation - baptism, confirmation and the Eucharist. However, if you have already been baptised then you won't be again.
  • Mystagogy. A Greek word, "Mystagogy" means "learning about the mysteries". After your reception into the Church, this is a period of reflection and growth of faith as you learn more about the Mass and Sacraments that you now participate in fully.

Where can I find more information?

For further reading click here

New Evangelisation

Go to top