Archbishop Emeritus

Most Reverend Mario Joseph Conti



archbp conti


Born at Elgin, Moray, 20th March 1934.  Educated at St Marie's Convent, Elgin; Springfield School, Elgin; St Mary's College, Blairs; Scots College and Pontifical Gregorian University, Rome (PhL 1955, STL 1959).  Ordained priest at Rome 26th October 1958.  St Mary's Cathedral, Aberdeen 1959-62; parish priest, Wick 1962-67; Thurso 1967-77.  Nominated bishop of Aberdeen 28th February 1977 and ordained by Gordon Gray, cardinal archbishop of St Andrews and Edinburgh at Aberdeen, 3rd May 1977. Commendatore nell' Ordine al Merito della Repubblica Italiana 1981; honorary D.D. (University of Aberdeen) 1989; Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem, Knight Commander with Star 1989, and Grand Prior, Scottish Lieutenancy 2013-; Principal Chaplain to the British Association of the Order of Malta 1995-2000, 2005-; Conventual Chaplain Grand Cross ad honorem to the Sovereign Military Order of St John of Jerusalem of Rhodes and of Malta 2001; Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.  Translated to Glasgow 22 February 2002; Apostolic Administrator, Diocese of Paisley 2004-05.  Honorary D.D. (University of Glasgow) 2010.  Retired 8th September 2012.  Honorary D.Litt. (Glasgow Caledonian University) 2015.

Residence:  40 Newlands Road, Glasgow, G43 2JD














College of Consultors

Very Reverend Monsignor Paul Conroy VG

Very Reverend Monsignor Paul Murray

Very Reverend Robert Canon Hill

Very Reverend Peter Canon Gallacher

Reverend Aidan Martin

Reverend John Gannon

Reverend Paul Gargaro

Council of Priests

Chair:  Very Reverend Robert Canon Hill

Vice-Chair:  Rev John Gannon

Secretary:  Rev Gerald Sharkey

Reverend Aidan Martin

Reverend Allan Cameron

Reverend John Campbell

Reverend John Carroll

Reverend John Gannon

Reverend Joseph Mackle

Very Reverend Monsignor Paul Conroy (Vicar-General)

Very Reverend Monsignor Paul Murray (Chancellor)

Very Reverend Gerard Canon Conroy (Director for the New Evangelisation)

Reverend Thomas Kilbride

Reverend David Wallace

Reverend Joseph Sullivan

Reverend John McGrath

Reverend Paul Gargaro

Reverend John Sweeney

Very Reverend Gerard Canon Tartaglia

Very Reverend Peter Canon Gallacher (Treasurer)

Reverend Ross Campbell (Vocations Director)

Representatives on Education Committees

Representative for Glasgow

Very Rev Robert Canon Hill VF
Saint Matthew
2 South Crosshill Road
G64 2LZ
T: 0141 772 1619

Representative for East Dumbarton

Mrs Patricia Alexander
44 St Columba Drive
G66 3JN 
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Representative for West Dumbarton

Miss Ellen McBride
74 Mallard Road
G81 6NA
T: 01389 875803

Representative for North Lanarkshire

Mr James Duffin
35 Auchingramont Road
T: 01698 457509

Representative for Argyll & Bute

Mrs Margaret Anderson
PA34 4LX

Pontifical Mission Aid Societies

Archdiocesan Director
Rev Joseph Boyle
Our Lady and St George's, 50 Sandwood Road, Glasgow, G22 2QE
T: 0141 882 4868

Registrar for Deceased Clergy

Rev Alfred McKenzie
196 Clyde Street, Glasgow, G1 4JY
T: 0141 226 5898 (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)

The Cathedral Chapter (Restored 13th January 1884)
Statutes Revised January 2005

The Cathedral Chapter was restored with twelve canonries which the Holy See increased to fourteen. These are the Canons de Numero. The January 2005 revision of the Chapter Statutes linked the possession of a number of these Canonries ex officio with the Office of Dean (or Vicar Forane) and with the office of Administrator of Saint Andrew's Cathedral. The other four Canonries are assigned by the Archbishop in consultation with the Chapter. In addition there are Canons supernumerary whether Emeriti or Honorary who are not members of the Chapter, but are accorded the status of such.


V Rev Peter Gallacher VF

Canons de Numero

Rt Rev Mgr Peter Smith

V Rev Mgr Hugh Bradley

V Rev Gerard Tartaglia VF

V Rev Peter McBride VF

V Rev Gerard Conroy (Canon Theologian)

V Rev Robert Hill VF

V Rev John McGrorry VF

V Rev Mgr Paul Conroy VG

V Rev Andrew McKenzie VF

V Rev Anthony Gallagher VF

V Rev Gerald Sharkey

V Rev David Wallace

V Rev Thomas White


Canons Supernumerary - Emeriti

Rt Rev Mgr John Gilmartin VF

V Rev Patrick J Kelly

V Rev Bernard Devine

Rt Rev Mgr Patrick Osborne

Rt Rev Mgr Noel Woods

V Rev George Bradburn


Canons Supernumerary - Honorary

V Rev Nicholas Rowan

V Rev Thomas Hendry

V Rev Joseph McAuley

V Rev Henry McKay

V Rev William McGinley

V Rev Paul Gargaro

Go to top