Deaneries are structures whereby the Diocesan Bishop can exercise his ministry in a more effective way. They are therefore smaller areas allowing more localised pastoral and administrative action, in harmony with the diocesan vision and planning.

Deaneries are placed under the care of a Vicar Forane (Dean) who is to assist the Diocesan Bishop in his ministry. Each deanery also has a deanery co-ordinator who works with the dean and the deanery co-ordinating team at local level and the diocesan bishop and his pastoral team at the diocesan level. Deaneries therefore form an integral part of the diocesan structure.

The Deanery structure has undergone a revision and the Archbishop issued decrees establishing new deaneries on January 13th, 2003. On the same day, he appointed Deans (Vicars Forane) to the new Deaneries. In the Autumn of 2004, the Statutes of the Cathedral Chapter were revised and approved by the Archbishop. Now each dean is, ex officio, a member of the Chapter and hence is called Canon.

Click on any of the Churches below for further information: 


St. Andrew's Cathedral, Glasgow
St. Anne, Dennistoun
St. Alphonsus, Glasgow
St. Mary, Calton
St. Michael, Parkhead
Our Lady of Good Counsel, Dennistoun
Sacred Heart, Bridgeton
Strathclyde University Chaplaincy



St. Michael, Dumbarton
St. Patrick, Dumbarton
St. Peter, Dumbarton
Our Lady and St. Mark, Alexandria
St. Kessog, Balloch
St. Mahew, Cardross
St. Joseph, Helensburgh
St. Martin, Renton
St. Gildas, Rosneath

Dean: V. Rev. Gerard Canon Conroy VF


St. Barnabas, Shettleston
St. Bernadette, Carntyne
St. Joachim, Carmyle
St. Joseph, Tollcross
St. Jude and St John Ogilvie, Barlanark
St. Maria Goretti, Cranhill
St. Paul, Shettleston
St. Thomas, Riddrie

Dean: V. Rev. Andrew Canon McKenzie VF


St. Agnes, Lambhill
St. Aloysius, Springburn
St. Augustine, Milton
St. Catherine Laboure, Balornock
Immaculate Heart of Mary, Balornock
St. Mungo, Townhead
St. Philomena, Provanmill
St. Roch, Garngad
St. Teresa, Possilpark



St. Dominic, Bishopbriggs
St. Matthew, Bishopbriggs
Our Lady and St. Helen, Condorrat
Holy Cross, Croy
St. Joseph, Cumbernauld
St. Lucy, Cumbernauld
Sacred Heart, Cumbernauld
St. Flannan, Kirkintilloch
Holy Family and St. Ninian, Kirkintilloch
St. John of the Cross, Twechar

Dean: V Rev Robert Canon Hill VF 


St. Benedict, Drumchapel
St. Laurence, Drumchapel
St. Andrew, Bearsden
St. Eunan, Clydebank
St. Margaret, Clydebank
Our Holy Redeemer, Clydebank
St. Stephen, Dalmuir
St. Mary, Duntocher
St. Joseph, Faifley
St. Joseph, Milngavie
St. Patrick, Old Kilpatrick

Dean: V. Rev. Gerard Canon Tartaglia VF


St. Albert, Pollokshields
St. Anthony, Govan
St. Bernard, South Nitshill
St. Constantine, Govan
St. Conval, Pollok
St. James, Crookston
St. Leo, Dumbreck
St. Louise, Arden
Our Lady of Lourdes, Cardonald
Our Lady and St. George, Penilee
St. Robert Bellarmine, Househillwood 
St. Vincent de Paul, Thornliebank

Dean: Rt. Rev. Mgr. John Canon Gilmartin VF


St. Bartholomew, Castlemilk 
St. Brigid, Toryglen 
Christ the King, King's Park 
St. Gabriel, Merrylee 
St. Helen, Langside
Holy Cross, Crosshill 
Holy Name, Mansewood 
Blessed John Duns Scotus, Gorbals 
St. Margaret Mary, Castlemilk 
St. Mary Immaculate, Pollokshaws 

Dean: V. Rev. Peter Canon Gallacher VF


St. Aloysius, Garnethill 
St. Brendan, Yoker
St. Charles, North Kelvinside 
St. Columba, Glasgow
Corpus Christi, Scotstounhill
St. Gregory, Wyndford
Immaculate Conception, Maryhill
St. Ninian, Knightswood 
Our Lady of Perpetual Succour, Broomhill
St. Patrick, Anderston 
St. Paul, Whiteinch 
St. Peter, Partick 
St. Simon, Partick 
Glasgow University Chaplaincy

Dean: Rt. Rev. Mgr. Peter Canon Smith VF

Go to top